Press release: 2018 SALA nominees announced

  • 0

The 2018 South African Literary Awards announces nominees, launches 2 additional categories, names new Poet Laureate

Celebrating the 13th anniversary of their existence, the South African Literary Awards (SALA) have shortlisted 23 authors from a total of just under 200 submissions received for 2018. The winners will be announced at a glittering awards ceremony on 6 November at UNISA.

Following the passing on of the 2nd National Poet Laureate, Keorapetse Kgositsile, the prestigious South African Literary Awards will announce his successor as well as introducing two additional categories: Novel Award and Children’s Literature Award.

The Awards will be followed by the 6th Africa Century International African Writers Conference whose International African Writers Day Lecture will be delivered by Kwesi Kwaa Prah, the renowned, highly respected scholar, prolific author and public speaker, who is also the founder of the Center for Advanced Studies of African Societies in South Africa.

The Conference is also taking place at UNISA over two days, ie 6 and 7 November 2018.

“We are excited that South African literature continues to flourish, with many young writers coming into the scene, sharing platforms with their more established and experienced counterparts,” said Morakabe Seakhoa, Project Director of the South African Literary Awards.

Seakhoa, however, expressed sadness and concern that “we still see less and less of works written in African languages”.

Founded by the wRite associates, in partnership with the national Department of Arts and Culture (DAC) in 2005, the main aim of the South African Literary Awards is to pay tribute to South African writers who have distinguished themselves as groundbreaking producers and creators of literature, while it celebrates literary excellence in the depiction and sharing of South Africa’s histories, value systems and philosophies and art as inscribed and preserved in all the languages of South Africa, particularly the official languages.

With 13 successful years of existence, 13 categories and over 161 authors honoured, the SA Literary Awards have become the most prestigious and respected literary accolades in the South African literary landscape. SALA prides itself in not only acknowledging established authors but as a platform to budding writers through the First-time Published Author Award category.

We congratulate the 2018 nominees for their sterling work and keeping South Africa’s literary heritage alive.

2018 SALA shortlist

First-time Published Author Award

  • Celesté Fritze, Verlorenkop, Afrikaans
  • Malebo Sephodi, Miss Behave, English

Boekresensie: Verlorenkop deur Celesté Fritze

Creative Non-fiction Award

  • Deon Maas, Melk die heilige koeie: Van baarde en banting tot Zupta en zol, Afrikaans
  • Jurgen Schadeberg, The Way I See It, English

Boekonderhoud: Deon Maas oor Melk die heilige koeie

Poetry Award

  • Johan Myburg, Uittogboek, Afrikaans
  • Kelwyn Sole, Walking, Falling, English

Uittogboek deur Johan Myburg: ’n resensie

Literary Translators Award

  • Jeff Opland and Peter Peter Mtuze, Umoya Wembongi: Collected Poems (1922–1935) by John Solilo, isiXhosa to English
  • Jeff Opland and Peter Peter Mtuze, Iziganeko Zesizwe: Occasional Poems (1900–1943) by SEK Mqhayi, isiXhosa to English

Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award

  • Nick Mulgrew, The First Law of Sadness, English
  • Nicole Jaekel Strauss, As in die mond, Afrikaans

LitNet Akademies-resensie-essay: As in die mond deur Nicole Jaekel Strauss

Novel Award

  • Dan Sleigh, 1795, Afrikaans
  • Rehana Rossouw, New Times, English

LitNet Akademies-resensie-essay: 1795 deur Dan Sleigh

Children's Literature Award

  • Marilyn J Honikman, There Should Have Been Five, English
  • Jaco Jacobs, Daar is nie ’n krokodil in hierdie boek nie, Afrikaans
  • Jaco Jacobs, Moenie hierdie boek eet nie, Afrikaans
  • Marita van der Vyver, Al wat ek weet, Afrikaans

Al wat ek weet: ’n onderhoud met Marita van der Vyver

Lifetime Achievement Literary Award

  • Hermann Giliomee, Afrikaans
  • Ronnie Kasrils, English

Lesersmening: Hermann Giliomee – ’n Outobiografie

The following prizes will be announced at the award ceremony:

  • Posthumous Literary Award
  • Literary Journalism Award
  • Chairperson's Award
  • National Poet Laureate
  • 0


Jou e-posadres sal nie gepubliseer word nie. Kommentaar is onderhewig aan moderering.