Press release: 2019 Commonwealth Short Story Prize open for entries

  • 0

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize – the flagship project of Commonwealth Writers and the world’s most global literary prize – is now open for entries.

Last year’s Chair of judges, the British novelist Sarah Hall, said of the prize: "This is such a great, unique prize, one that seeks to uphold both literary community and particularity, crossing borders with the ambition of collating our common and unique stories."

Sarah Hall

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is for the best piece of unpublished short fiction. As well as being open to entries in English and translated into English from any language, it is the only literary prize in the world where entries can be submitted in Bengali, Chinese, Malay, Portuguese, Samoan, Swahili, and Tamil. The judges choose a winner from each of the five Commonwealth regions – Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, the Caribbean, and the Pacific – one of which is selected as the overall winner. Regional winners receive £2,500 GBP and the overall winner receives £5,000 GBP. All winners are published by Granta online, and selected shortlisted stories on adda, Commonwealth Writers’s online magazine of international writing.

Kevin Jared Hosein

Kevin Jared Hosein, winner of the 2018 Commonwealth Short Story Prize, said: "The prize jump-started my literary career and for that I am extremely grateful. The entries that are lauded and selected are diverse in not just character, but style and genre. Entering the Commonwealth Short Story Prize is one of the best things you can do as an aspiring author."

Writers who are Commonwealth citizens may enter their stories online at

Closing date: 1 November 2018

  • 0


Jou e-posadres sal nie gepubliseer word nie. Kommentaar is onderhewig aan moderering.