Picador 40th anniversary competition: Write a jacket blurb or design a book cover. Winners announced!

  • 0

To celebrate their 40th anniversary, Picador had a set of 15 classic titles redesigned to form a beautiful, collectable set. LitNet is giving away two complete sets of redesigned Picador Classics.

The set includes:

All The Pretty Horses by Cormac McCarthy Room by Emma Donoghue
American Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis Shirley, Goodness and Mercy by Chris van Wyk
Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding  The Line of Beauty by Alan Hollinghurst
Dirt Music by Tim Winton The Lovely Bones by Alice Seabold
I Write What I Like by Steve Biko The Savage Detectives by Roberto Bolano
Last Orders by Graham Swift The Sea by John Banville
Mother’s Milk by Edward St Aubyn White Noise by Don DeLillo
Mukiwa by Peter Godwin  

There are two options available to our readers in order to win: write a blurb or design a book cover.   

Option 1: Write a blurb

Write the jacket blurb for the imaginary book cover above in 100 words. Your blurb should give readers an idea of what the story is about, what genre they’ll be dealing with, and who the main character is. Be creative and enticing. Use suitable language, activate the imagination and make the book sound completely irresistible. All entries will be published on LitNet.


Our favourite blurb will win a complete set of Re-design Picador Classics.

Option 2: Design a book cover

Design a black-and-white book cover for a classic novel. Your design must include the title and the name of the author. You may use any technology, from a pencil to a camera or computer program to complete your design. Send us your cover in jpeg format. All entries will be published on LitNet.

Our favourite design will receive a complete set of Re-design Picador Classics. Read Steyn du Toit’s interview with Neil Lang, Senior Designer at Picador for inspiration.

How to enter

Send your blurb or book cover to [email protected].  Include your contact details in your e-mail. Entries must reach us by 10 May to be eligible for the prize.

Klik hier vir inligting oor hierdie kompetisie in Afrikaans.


  Sonja Badenhorst and Louis Greenberg.

  • 0


Jou e-posadres sal nie gepubliseer word nie. Kommentaar is onderhewig aan moderering.